Sri Lankas free tourist visas to be continued for 48 countries until 30th April 2020

PUBLISHED January 04, 2020

Sri Lanka has decided to extend the free visa-on-arrival scheme till April 30 for the citizens of 48 countries, including India, Tourism Minister Prasanna Ranatunga said.

"We have decided to extend this facility due to requests from the stakeholders. A Cabinet paper would be submitted for this purpose," Ranatunga has said.

The tourism industry in Sri Lanka has urged the government to continue the fee-free visa regime, as it has been helpful to recover from the post-Easter Sunday setback. They have pointed out that the any loss of revenue to Government from granting free visa is insignificant considering the net $ 4.4 billion income the industry brings in as foreign exchange earnings.

The Sri Lankan government launched the program to grant one-month free visa to visitors from 48 countries on 1st of August this year until January this year as an effort to boost the tourism industry that was badly hit by the Easter bomb attacks that killed 263 people.

Nationals from Thailand, European Union nations, the United States, Australia, South Korea, Canada, Singapore, New Zealand, Malaysia, Switzerland, Cambodia, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Iceland, and Russia are among the 48 nations included in the measure.


Please login to Comment